New Year. New Word.

I have a wonderful cyber friend who doesn’t write New Year’s Resolutions.  Instead, she picks a word that speaks to her and will motivate her throughout the upcoming twelve months and into the years beyond.

My word for 2012: Challenge.

As in the verb, because life holds enough challenge in the noun form.  It is a challenge to find time to write.  It is a challenge to stay in shape.  It is a challenge to be a good mother, wife, daughter, sister, aunt, friend and neighbor.  Doing life well is a definite challenge.

Which is exactly why I challenge myself to do better and be better in 2012.

I challenge myself to take my health seriously.  My genetic package is less than stellar, and so far I’ve cheated extra pant sizes by sheer luck alone.  Yet, thin and healthy are not synonymous.  High blood pressure, bad cholesterol levels and a history of heart disease loom in my future, as do obesity and diabetes.

I challenge myself to be a better writer.  Always a little on the ADD side of normal, I get lost in my own head on a regular basis.  I am a whimsical writer in the sense that I work on whichever project strikes my fancy.  So far it’s panned out, as I always have multiple projects in multiple stages that I can work on when the mood moves me.  However, I’m at a point where I shouldn’t take a year to spit-shine one manuscript.

This year, I challenge myself to be a better communicator.  Sometimes I leave things unsaid or say things I shouldn’t.  Conflict gives me the hives, so I confront it as little as possible.  Likewise, I’m a wishy-washy decision maker at best, which can frustrate even the most patient of souls.  The upside is that people think I’m sweet, if a little flighty.  The downside is…well, it’s unspeakable, and henceforth my need to communicate better becomes the utmost challenge.

I challenge myself to be a better wife and mother.  DH’s promotion comes with a change in time away from home and a different level of stress.  The end of the school year brings our first graduation and a new driver into the family.  It also burdens our calendar with more events as the little boys sample sports and develop their passions.  Long story short, getting lost in my own head for an entire day is no longer viable while raising a family of six.

Life is a challenge.  One I challenge myself to face with grace, dignity and determination.

Anyone else up for a challenge?  What one word describes your upcoming year?  What goals do you hope to accomplish?  What steps must you take to get there?

Curious minds want to know.

6 responses to “New Year. New Word.

  1. Happy New Year, Cat. I haven’t picked my word yet. I know it WON’T be procrastinate. Good job with yours.

    • Good word not to pick, Kay! I’m sure your word will be motivating and helpful in keeping you focused on your priorities in life.

      Hugs and best luck sticking to it.

  2. I think I know this friend or least someone else who does the same thing. Very cool idea! I think my word will either be Grateful or Give. Haven’t quite decided yet. Though I suppose I should soon!

    Happy New Year!

    • MK,

      I’ve always failed at resolutions, but the word of the year keeps me focused. We have some pretty smart friends, it would seem!

      I love your two choices and think either of them would work beautifully for you.

      Hugs and happiness~

  3. Ah ha, caught you! That is a word that takes courage to choose. Mine is “leap” inspired by 2012 being a Leap Year. I just love all the energy it is radiating already. Hugs, The Divine M.

    • The Divine M!!!

      You are my inspiration, my dear. I shall somehow include divine into my word of the year. Maybe it can be a double whammy: to meet the challenges with divinity…lol! Not the fudge!!!

Leave a comment